Sunday, June 24, 2007

Home: Ben Gibbard in Seattle, Day Two

What really struck me about these two Ben Gibbard sets is how enthusiastic the crowd response is throughout. Of course, it's bound to be elevated due to location, but the atmosphere seems pretty consistent with the way that many people regarded this solo tour (extreme anticipation). A few years ago, I'dve thought it unthinkable that a mere singer-songwriter could demand such a fuss, but I can still recall making a note to check out this Postal Service band in that haze of pre-musical awareness, which I suppose is a testament to the appeal of his songwriting. I almost wonder why he doesn't just go and release a proper solo album; after all, bandmate Chris Walla has It's Unsustainable coming out some time this year (allegedly).

So here's day two of his two day stay at the Showbox in Seattle, recording on May 21st, 2007. Major thanks again to Michael for catching it all on tape.

1. Steadier Footing
2. We Will Become Silhouettes
3. Why You'd Want To Live Here
4. Photobooth
5. I Was A Kalidescope
6. Title and Registration
7. Crooked Teeth
8. (This Is) The Dream of Evan Chan
9. Passenger Seat
10. Soul Meets Body
11. We Looked Like Giants
12. It'll Be A Breeze (Roderick Cover)
13. 405
14. A Lack of Color
15. Farmer Chords / Brand New Colony
16. I Will Follow You Into The Dark
17. Blacking Out The Friction
18. All Apologies (Nirvana Cover)
19. The Sound of Settling
20. Nothing Better
21. Such Great Heights

.zip of both sets: Here


Anonymous said...

Hey, while searching for widgets for my blog, I stumbled upon and wow! I found what I wanted. A cool news widget. My blog is now showing latest news with title, description and images. Took just few minutes to add. Awesome!

Dance Hall Hips said...

Glad you got these two up. Made it to the first of the two shows. Thanks!!

Jen said...

wow. i definnitely appreciate you posting/hosting these.
i only wish that one of the girls in the audience didn't sing noticeably off key on sound of settling especially. it drives me nuts. oh well. i'm glad to be able to listen to these at all.
thanks again!

Anonymous said...

thank you so much for posting these...but could please please fix them?? they arent working and it would make my day/week/month if i could get these songs. thank you so much.

Roland said...

I think the sendspace link is still working:

Let me know if you have any problems downloading...

Phil & Marlene Scoville said...

I am having trouble with the link. It says that it has expired.

Roland said...

Here's Day 2:

I should have Day 1 up shortly.

Dani said...

Is there any chance you could upload those two sets again? I've lost most of my Gibbard files because of a computer crash and I'd be your biggest fan!
Please, I'm not above begging!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...