Sunday, April 29, 2007

Positive Tension: Yeah Yeah Yeahs at Coachella

In that dim haze of childhood radio consumption, my impression of the Yeah Yeah Yeahs remains surprisingly clear. Although the song in question, "Maps," isn't really reflective of the band's first mess of a record, Fever To Tell, its poignancy seems a bit more spread out in their sophomore release, Show Your Bones. I'm still not sure if that's a good thing. Granted, I was never a huge fan, but the immediacy and DIY-ness of earlier works was, if not cathartic, at least refreshing. In a live setting, the band straddles the line between old and new, between abrasion and vulnerability, and it's interesting to hear how these styles mix. This recording's from April 30th, 2006.


1. Cheated Hearts
2. Black Tongue
3. Fancy
4. Honeybear
5. Pin
6. Gold Lion
7. Phenomena
8. Art Star
9. Turn Into
10. Maps
11. Warrior
12. Y Control

Altogether: Here


matt said...

Hi. Sorry to moan again but 4 Honeybear & 12 y control are 10 secs long. In other news Emily Haines & the Soft Skeleton are playing a short tour including a date in London on 2 June for which (thank you God) i've got a ticket. Feist then Emily - does life get any better.

Roland said...

Hey, sorry about that, not really sure what the problem is. I've uploaded the tracks on Mediafire, (left click) here and here.

Michelle said...

Thanks for this, roland. Great stuff.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...