Tuesday, November 28, 2006

Lucky and Unhappy: Fiona Apple at the Eastman

One of the stronger testaments to the changing industry occurred a couple years ago, back when I still listened to the radio (R.I.P. K-Rock). If you recall, demos to Fiona Apple's Extraordinary Machine leaked, prompting a fan-fueled "Free Fiona" effort. While the situation was conveyed as nefarious record executives at Sony caging artistic expression, in actuality, what transpired wasn't nearly that clearly cut. Of course, what's important is that the album came out last year and was appreciated. I'm not quite sure what she's up to now, but her recording of "Sally's Song" recently appeared on the expanded soundtrack for The Nightmare before Christmas. I guess that means it's official; it's holiday season.

Anyhow, it seems an appropriate time to give her another spin, and if you aren't familiar with her work, here's an opportunity to discover. This set was recorded at the Eastman School of Music in Rochester, New York on January 7th, 2000. It's made up of material from her first two albums, and Tidal and When The Pawn.


1. On The Bound
2. To Your Love
3. Criminal
4. Limp
5. Sullen Girl
6. Paper Bag
7. Get Gone
8. Love Ridden
9. Sleep To Dream
10. Carrion
11. The Way Things Are
12. I Know
13. A Mistake
14. Fast As You Can
15. Just One Of Those Things

Buy Stuff: Here

In other news...

Speaking of good female vocalists, I highly recommend Jem. Apparently, Nic Harcourt agrees.


Matt said...

Thanks for this. Extraordinary Machine is brilliant.

k said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...