Tuesday, November 21, 2006

Quiet Riot: Kings of Convenience on KCRW

It's undoubtedly my skewed perception, but it seems that Scandinavia is a really active these days as far as music-making goes. While many of its inhabitants choose to embrace the climate by sculpting artfully frigid electronica, others are more inclined to preserve warmth with the comfort of acoustic guitar.

Kings of Convenience are decidedly the latter, but there's a bit of complexity beneath their mellow surface. Their remix album Versus, which includes work by Ladytron, Four Tet, and Röyksopp, bridges the gap between these two seemingly disparate schools of music. Erlend Øye also provides many of Röyky's trademark world-weary vocals, as well as compiling a DJ-Kicks and recently releasing Dreams with the Whitest Boy Alive. Don't let that laid-back picture (and musical delivery) fool you; he's a busy man!

This set originally aired on KCRW's Morning Becomes Eclectic on May 18th, 2005. And, since I'm a sucker for covers, I've included their take on Feist's "Gatekeeper;" she appears on a couple tracks in Riot On An Empty Street.


1. Intro
2. Until You Understand
3. Cayman Islands
4. Love Is No Big Truth
5. I Don't Know What I Can Save You From
6. Interview
7. Know How
8. Stay Out Of Trouble
9. Homesick
10. Misread
11. Toxic Girl

Gatekeeper (Live Feist Cover)

Convenient: Here

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...