Thursday, December 21, 2006

Dub Shepard: Erol Alkan at Trash

You may have seen the name of Erol Alkan through simple remix diffusion. It seems that every band, electronic or otherwise, is releasing reworked songs, if not a full-on remix album, these days, and the producer seems as prominent as the actual band in some cases. Erol has a pretty impressive body of work, and it seems that his projects reflect his similarly-inflected musical tastes.

An awesome example is this DJ set, recorded at Erol's own Trash in London on January 25th, 2005. He really does a great job of incorporating the old and new, and whatever you're into, it makes for a varied and interesting listen. While other DJs incorporate the occasional sample or rely on their own processed beats, this set is name-dropping glory. I guess you could think of it as a live DJ-Kicks.


1. Interpol - Evil
2. Joy Division - Shadowplay
3. Bloc Party - Banquet
4. Cazals - Poor Innocent Boys (Demo)
5. Whitey - YUH2BM
6. LCD Soundsystem - Daft Punk Is Playing In My House
7. Daft Punk - Human After All
8. Soulwax - E Talking (Nite Version)
9. Death From Above 1979 - Blood On Our Hands (Justice Remix)
10. The Kills - No Wow
11. Franz Ferdinand - This Fffire
12. The Long Blondes - Giddy Stratospheres
13. White Rose Movement - Love Is A Number
14. The Cure - Boys Dont Cry (12" Mix)
15. Le Tigre - TKO (Peaches Knock-Out Mix)
16. Nancy Sinatra - These Boots Are Made For Walking
17. Daft Punk - Robot Rock
18. Killing Joke - Almost Red
19. Bloc Party - She's Hearing Voices (Erol Alkan's Calling Your Dub)
20. The Stone Roses - Made Of Stone
21. Kings of Leon - Slow Nights So Long
22. The Blood Arm - Do I Have Your Attention
23. The Buzzcocks - Everybody's Happy Nowadays
24. Sons & Daughters - Johnny Cash
25. New Order - Age Of Consent
26. Joe Jackson - Steppin' Out

In The Mix: Here

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...